EU Policies

EU Enlargement

 Today’s European Union, with 27 Member States and a population close to 500 million people, is the result of an evolutionary process of integration and enlargement for over half of a century. The EU Member States have agreed to extend the EU membership perspective to countries in South East Europe - Croatia, Republic of Macedonia, Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Serbia including Kosovo under UNSCR 1244 as well as to Turkey and Iceland. Membership will only happen when the necessary requirements are met.

Romania supports the “open doors” policy for those countries that have the will and capacity to meet the EU enlargement criteria.

To date, there are four candidate countries:

The other countries from the Western Balkans (Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro and Serbia including Kosovo under UNSCR1244) are considered potential candidate countries. 


The message of Minister for European Affairs George Ciamba at the end of the Romanian Presidency of the Council of the European Union


“Presiding over the Council was the maturity test for Romania and a means to reconfirm its attachment to the European project” – George Ciamba We are preparing to hand over the Presidency of the EU Council after six intense months,…

Harnessing the power of innovation to prevent and address crises” exhibit organized in Brussels by the Romanian Presidency of the Council of the


Between 11-14 June 2019, the Romanian Presidency of the Council of the EU together with the United Nations World Food Programme (WFP) organized in Brussels, in the Council of the EU, an interactive exhibit that showcases how innovation enhances the…